EXPLORING CANVA

Canva Infographic

I began my exploration and learning this week by reading about various online creation tools.  I first browsed through some information about tools used to make comic books and comic strips, but none of these really grabbed my interest.  They just simply weren’t my style and I didn’t feel that it would be the best format to present the kind of information I wanted to share from my ILP.

As I moved on to explore the other tools, I began comparing the pros and cons of Piktochart and Canva.  With Piktochart, you can choose from any of their free templates in order to get started.  From there, you have the ability to choose a theme and move through quick and simple step-by-step instructions to create your graphic.  Canva allows you to choose a free template or begin with a blank slate (if you are much more skilled than I am).  Canva provides over a million free graphics and also gives you the ability to upload your own images.  While each of these tools seemed to be fairly user friendly, I felt that Canva would be the best fit for what I was trying to accomplish.

Once I had determined by platform, I needed to decide what information I was going to include.  After thinking back over all I have learned through my ILP, I thought it would be fun to create a visually appealing recipe for meringue frosting that I researched and learned how to make, as described in my blog “ILP: FANTASTIC FROSTING”.  I figured that if it turned out how I was picturing it, this would be a fun way to organize information that would be useful to myself in the future and also to any classmates who would like to try their own hand at making this delicious recipe.

When I began working with Canva, it took me just a few minutes to figure everything out. It was not terribly difficult, but I did have to play around with the various features to find the things that I needed.  One challenge I encountered was finding the right images to use in my creation.  At first glance, Canva did not offer the images that I was wanting free of charge.  I began to consider uploading my own images, but as I searched a little deeper I found a cute illustration that fit my recipe nicely.  Other than this, I did not have many other issues.  Downloading and sharing my finished product was as simple and clicking one button.

I think that there is absolutely value in presenting information in this way.  Creating posters, presentations, informational flyers, etc., with a tool like Canva makes what you are sharing so much more appealing to the viewers.  The colorful, eye catching, intriguing designs are limitless with these online creation tools.

If I ended up teaching upper elementary or middle school, I would consider using these tools in my classroom.  I especially think that the comic strip tool would be fun at the 4th-6th grade level.  In the younger grades, I see myself using these tools to create posters and presentations for our classroom, as well as graphics with information that needs to be communicated with parents and guardians about upcoming events, tests, and field trips.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first experience with Canva and see myself using it for many different things in the future!

15 thoughts on “EXPLORING CANVA

  1. Totally agree with you about this being a great presentation tool! I really love your visual as well. I think you chose a great template to convey your information. How did you decide what recipe to use? I also think your ILP is really great and you can use it in a classroom for so many different subjects! Great article!

    Like

    1. The recipe I used was one that I had already looked into for an ILP blog post earlier this semester. Any of those recipes would have worked just fine, but this one had the most ingredients and detailed steps, so I figured it would work well for this project. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Canva was an awesome tool to look through and was easy to use! I think your bright graphic goes really well with your ILP, and though it seems it took a while it was well worth it! Great job!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Courtney! It took a little time to figure everything out, but once I knew what I was doing, the process went fairly quickly. I definitely see myself using Canva in the future! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. I loved using Canva as well! I really like your visual here too. You gave everything is necessary on how to complete the task. You even gave the directions on how to do so! This is a great visual to use in a classroom, but may also require someone to explain it verbally, for those who are auditory learners. Overall, this is a great visual!\

    Jacob Henderson

    Like

    1. Thanks! I created this visual with the intent of it being a helpful tool to anyone who wanted to get into baking, but I’m sure there are ways I would be able to use it in the classroom too! I think that is one of the best parts about creation tools like Canva; they have the ability to be used in so many different settings and for so many different purposes. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  4. LOVE that you used an online design tool for a recipe card! It’s super cute. Your recipe card is easy to read and follow, which I like. Sometimes when reading recipe cards, they get a bit wordy and it’s complicated to follow. Great ideas!!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I definitely had a lot of fun exploring with Canva and creating this visual recipe. Something like this might be a fun idea for a home economics class! Students could research a recipe, try it out, and then create a graphic like this to display their recipes in a fun way! There really are so many opportunities with tools like Canva and Piktochart. I can’t wait to see how they fit into my future classroom!

      Like

  5. I also used Canva and I couldn’t agree with you more on how easy it was to understand. It really made it nice when creating the image because I knew what each button meant and where I could find images. I really like how you said the different ways you would use it for different grades. I think for lover elementary students it would be very good for the teacher to create the posters and so forth and then hang them on the walls. I also think that the older elementary students would love to create their own posters!

    Like

    1. Canva provides many different opportunities for students across all grade levels. This was never something that I got to use much throughout high school. Did your middle school or high school teachers incorporate things like this into their lessons at all? I definitely see myself using Canva for things like posters and informational notes in my future classroom! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  6. This is so cute. I love your recipe idea. While it does not relate to the classroom, I think kids would have fun sharing their own recipes, orrrrrr you could have the recipe format and use it as a lesson for the organization, and direction following. Great Post!
    -Kelly

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading!! I did focus my graphic on just information from my ILP, but I think there are tons of ways you could get creative with a template like this one in the classroom. Which creation sites did you explore with? How do you see yourself using them in your future classrooms?

      Like

Leave a comment