ILP: FANTASTIC FROSTING

 

fantastic-frosting-pic
Photo CC by-als pictures

My two hours of ILP time this week were spent diving into pools of frosting! (Well, not literally. Even though that sounds like it would be a very sweet time.) The recipes, procedures, and uses of five very different cake toppings were my focus for the week. These included store bought icing, buttercream frosting, cream cheese frosting, fondant, and meringue. While my independent learning this week was limited strictly to research and the gathering of recipes and frosting tips, I plan to utilize each of these different cake toping options throughout the following weeks.

In both of my creations these past two weeks, I have opted to use store bought frosting. The first week, I used cream cheese frosting and this last week, I topped my football brownies off with some classic chocolate frosting. This has worked well because it was cheap, convenient, and flowed through the piping bags very smoothly. I am however, extremely anxious and excited to experiment with these other frosting recipes throughout the remainder of the semester.

The second frosting I did some research on was buttercream. This is made with butter, icing sugar, vanilla, and milk. To create this yummy frosting, www.bestrecipes.com suggests that you beat 125 grams of butter (not margarine) until it becomes a pale white color. Then, add ¾ cup icing sugar and 1 tablespoon of milk and beat until mixed. Add another ¾ cup of icing sugar and 1 tablespoon of milk and repeat process. One of the advantages of buttercream is that it hardens when chilled, but it also melts easily when exposed to warmer temperatures.

Cream cheese frosting (one of my personal favorites) is made with cream cheese, butter, and icing sugar. This is commonly placed on the tops of carrot cake and other cupcakes. Beating 30 grams of butter and 80 grams of cream cheese until “light and airy” and then slowly adding icing sugar will give you a fluffy and creamy frosting that is mouthwateringly delicious.

Fondant is something that I have always wanted to play around with, but have never really had the chance to use. Unlike all of the other cake toppings, this one cannot be spread or piped, but instead must be rolled out with a rolling pin and placed flat on top of the cake surface. Once it has been smoothed over the cake surfaces, any extra fondant can be trimmed with a knife. Sometimes, there is a thin layer of frosting underneath the fondant to help it stick, but once it has been applied, this will leave you with a stiff and shiny look covering the outside of your cake. Fondant can be made at home, but is typically bought at the store in a premade block. It only comes in shades of white, but can be dyed to any other color.

The final topping I spent some time learning about was meringue. This light, whipped frosting is made from egg whites, sugar, water, cream of tartar, salt, and vanilla. The process required for making this is slightly more complicated than all of the others. Take a look below at the tutorial I used to learn how to make my own meringue!

I have always been a lover of almost all kinds of frosting.   Now that I have looked over various recipes and watched many tutorial videos, I am excited to apply these new frostings to baking creations coming in the near future!

22 thoughts on “ILP: FANTASTIC FROSTING

  1. It sounds like you had a lot of fun researching all of the frosting types, I know I would’ve! With all the different frosting types do you have like bakers tips to make them really good or like YouTube videos to watch them make all of them? Just because I know I’m more of a visual person so watching people make stuff helps a little bit more than just reading a recipe. Great blog post!

    Like

    1. It was a lot of fun! It barely even feels like homework:). I did begin my frosting learning at various blogs and websites that provided recipes and instructions from experienced bakers. That being said, I definitely learn well by watching too, so youtube videos were also a large source of information. This is why I thought sharing a video tutorial for the meringue might be more helpful than a long and detailed paragraph explaining the process! Thanks for the comment, Mackenna!

      Like

  2. First off, I am officially hungry and craving cake! Second, I never knew how many different frosting types there were! Sounds like you learned a lot! I can’t wait to see more of what you come up with!

    Like

    1. I think that if I can leave my readers with watering mouths and a grumbling tummy, then I have done my job :). There are actually even more kinds of frosting, but these are a few that I chose to share. I’m excited to keep learning and sharing this experience with you guys!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with Courtney, you should have a warning label on your blog: “hunger danger, full stomach is advised” haha! The fondant turned out great!! I could never picture myself doing something like that- I would probably tear it on accident. Keep up the good work and I’ll set a mental reminder to eat before I comment!

    Like

    1. I will have to remember that for next time, haha! Although I wish I could claim the fondant covered cake, that was actually just an example that I pulled off of Flickr. I am hoping to try it out for myself soon!! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  4. I absolutely love reading your ILP posts. I have always been interested in baking and food network, so it is always good to catch up and see what you’re up to. Frosting is a great research topic. Bakers can find the best uses out of certain types. While fondant has always been on the bottom of my list, it is the best for creating beautifully designed cakes that look clean and well presented. But buttercream is my favorite flavor and perfect for any cake needing a little sweetness! I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

    1. Buttercream is absolutely delicious! I think buttercream would be a very close second to cream cheese frosting as my personal favorite. I agree that fondant looks very nice when done well on a cake, and while I am slightly intimidated by it, I am eager to give it a try. Thanks for the comment, Kelly!

      Like

  5. I loved reading howUchiha fun you had on your ILP and how much more fun you will have when you use these recipes on cakes and other treats in the upcoming weeks. I knew there were different types of frosting out there but it really helped me know which ones are which after reading your article!

    Like

  6. This week we built our Personal Learning Network, after reading this I would be interested to see if you could tweet at cake boss explaining that you are in class working on all types of frosting. Just to see if someone famous would tweet back at you. I really enjoyed the diving into a sweet deal pun.

    Like

  7. Such a fun post! I LOVE cake and have always wanted to get more into baking. I never really thought about how many different types of frosting and techniques that you can use, and all of the work that it takes! I have always just used a simple buttercream frosting, so I am excited to see what else you come up with!
    Haley

    Like

    1. Thanks, Haley! I have had a great time with my ILP because it is such an enjoyable topic. The more that I poked around online and researched, the more frosting variations I discovered!! I am not too experienced with buttercream but plan to use it in the near future! Thank you for visiting my blog!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ashlyn,
    You always seem to lure me in by your fascinating pictures of your yummy treats! I truly think you chose the best learning project because you get to benefit yourself and all your friends and teammates by sharing this food! I can see you as being the favorite mom from your kids friends group because you always have the best treats in your house and the coolest birthday cakes all thanks to a class you took it college. Having a class like this one is so great because we actually get to learn and discover so many interesting things that we actually enjoy! I look forward to your tips for baking next week. I almost feel that I getting to experience as much baking as you are by reading you blogs!
    Take care!
    Bailey

    Like

    1. That was honestly one of the reasons for choosing this ILP. I knew it would be a skill that I could take and use throughout the rest of my life! I am so glad that you feel like you are learning by reading what I have learned too!! Thanks for reading and leaving the kind comment, Bailey!!

      Like

  9. It sure was a bad idea to read your blog hungry! All I’m thinking about is cake and frosting! Also, I’m not the best at baking, so I felt like I learned a lot just reading about frosting! I don’t think I realized there were so many different types. It sounds like your ILP is going extremely well, so keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

